• Home
  • About CIHRRC
  • What's New
  • CIHRRC Members
  • Our Research
  • Knowledge Translation
  • CIHRRC Forums
  • Partners and Collaborators
  • Become a CIHRRC Member
  • Member Login
  • Contact Us
  • Leave us Feedback

  • Time in CIHRRC Communities

    Vancouver time: 5:51 am
    Winnipeg time: 7:51 am
    Toronto time: 8:51 am
    Halifax time: 9:51 am
    London time: 1:51 pm


    History of CIHRRC

    CUHRRC was established in 2009 after a three day meeting in London, United Kingdom (UK) with researchers, clinicians, and people living with HIV from Canada and the United Kingdom (UK). The goal of this meeting was to develop an international collaborative research agenda to address research priorities in HIV and rehabilitation by establishing partnerships with researchers, clinicians, and community organizations in Canada and the UK.

    The first half of the meeting was aimed to facilitate knowledge transfer and exchange on HIV and rehabilitation research and service delivery and the second half of the meeting was dedicated to developing an international research agenda and formalizing sustainable plans for a research group called the Canada-UK HIV and Rehabilitation Research Collaborative (CUHRRC).

    At this inaugural meeting, participants included 25 researchers, rehabilitation professionals, physicians, people living with HIV, and representatives from community organizations in the UK and Canada. The CUHRRC established international research objectives that would address the six research priorities in HIV and rehabilitation identified by realize (formerly CWGHR) that include:

    • Disability and episodic disability
    • Concurrent health conditions aging with HIV
    • HIV and the brain
    • Labour force and income support
    • Access to and effect of rehabilitation
    • Development and evaluation of outcome measurement tools.
    This meeting was funded by a Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), Meetings, Planning and Dissemination Grant.  Click here to view video highlights from this meeting.